MP D.Tsogtbaatar attends 20th Winter Meeting of OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

2021-03-01 12:33:42

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. The 20th Winter Meeting of the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Parliamentary Assembly took place on 24-26 February 2021 in a virtual format and was attended by over 270 parliamentarians from member states.

On February 25, 2021, within the framework of the Winter Meeting, the State Great Hural of Mongolia was represented by D.Tsogtbaatar, Member of Parliament and Chair of the OSCE-Mongolia Parliamentary Assembly Liaison Group, at the joint session of the three General Committees correspond to the three main sections of the Helsinki Final Act: the Committee on Political Affairs and Security; the Committee on Economic Affairs, Science, Technology and Environment; and the Committee on Democracy, Human Rights and Humanitarian Questions. 

The 20th Winter Meeting – the first-ever virtual statutory meeting of the Assembly – discussed subject matters such as the building of environmental security, as well as the impact of COVID-19 on security and democracy. Opening the joint session, Wolfgang Sobotka, President of the Austrian National Council, stressed the importance of parliamentary work in these difficult times, emphasizing the importance of multilateralism, inter-parliamentary diplomacy and cooperation to ensure greater progress. 

The general debate, moderated by the Secretary-General of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, Roberto Montella, focused on press freedom, migration and the deterioration of human rights standards. 

At the time that Mongolia became a member state of the OSCE in 2012, the State Great Hural of Mongolia became a member of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly. Subsequently, the State Great Hural successfully hosted the 2015 Autumn Meeting of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia. The theme for the Meeting was “Addressing security challenges in the OSCE region and beyond: the role of parliamentarians in fostering regional co-operation.” 

The Assembly is the main mechanism for inter-parliamentary dialogue between its 57 member states, with headquarter in Copenhagen, Denmark.