Protocol signed to amend agreement on border checkpoints

2021-12-17 16:09:23

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ Minister of Foreign Affairs B.Battsetseg and Deputy Minister of Transport of the Russian Federation Vladimir Tokarev signed the Protocol on amendments to the August 10, 1994 Agreement between the Government of Mongolia and the Government of the Russian Federation on Border Checkpoints and Relaxed Regime on the Mongolian-Russian Border on December 16, during Mongolian President U.Khurelsukh’s visit to Russia.

With the establishment of the protocol, the sides upgraded status of Borshoo-Khandgait and Khankh-Mond checkpoints. Moreover, the sides agreed to remove 13 checkpoints, which have temporary or seasonal operation, lack facilities for border inspection, not connected to central electricity system, or had been inactive in recent years, and keep 16 checkpoints on the list of checkpoints.

The Government of Mongolia has begun extending and upgrading the main checkpoints. As part of the efforts, development works are underway at Altanbulag, Borshoo, and Sukhbaatar checkpoints and Khankh, Tsagaannuur, and Ulikhan checkpoints have been included in the Plan to Develop Some Border Checkpoints.