2021 session of OSCE Parliamentary Assembly concludes with election of new president

2021-07-08 16:52:10

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. 2021 Annual Session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) was concluded on July 6, 2021 by holding its Plenary session in a blended format. 

The Head of the Delegation to the OSCE PA Mr. Tsogtbaatar Damdin, MP and its members Ms. Odontuya Saldan, Vice-Chairwoman of the State Great Hural (Parliament) of Mongolia and Mr. Uchral Nyam-Osor, MP, Chair of the Standing Committee on Innovation and Digital Policy attended the session representing the Mongolian Parliament.

The plenary was addressed by the President of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, Peter Lord Bowness and the Chairperson-in-Office of the OSCE and Foreign Affairs Minister of Sweden, Ms. Ann Linde following by presentation and discussion of reports of election observation missions, Ad Hoc Committees and Special Representatives.

Moreover, the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly elected a new President along with its several new Bureau members. The election was conducted electronically by secret ballot and the results were announced at its closing plenary. The Swedish MP Margareta Cederfelt was elected as its new President, and MPs from Finland, Germany, Kazakhstan, Austria, and Cyprus were elected as its new Vice-Presidents.

Prior to this Closing Plenary, the PA’s three general committee meetings were held virtually. The reports on issues of social and economic repercussions of the pandemic, sustainable migration management, post-COVID multilateral diplomacy and protracted conflicts in the OSCE area were respectively presented and discussed at these meetings.

Related news